23rd and 24th May 2019 


QLD Autumn Symposium Chairpersons

David Rosengren
Qld Faulty Chair

QLD Autumn Symposium Organising Committee

Dr Sharyn Smith (QLD Autmn Symposium CHAIR 2018) 

Senior Staff Specialist 

Director of Emergency Medicine Training

Department of Emergency Medicine, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital

Dr Darren Powrie

Staff Specialist
Co-Director of Emergency Medicine Training
Department of Emergency Medicine,Princess Alexandra Hospital
Senior Lecturer, School of Medicine, University of Queensland

Dr James Collier

Staff Specialist MBBS FACEM
Director of Emergency Medicine Training
Department of Emergency Medicine
Princess Alexandra Hospital

Dr Kim Hansen


Kim Hansen is an experienced Emergency Consultant with a passion for Safety and Quality in healthcare.  Kim is a member of ACEM’s Council, Quality Committee Vice-chair and Chair of the IFEM’s Quality and Safety Special Interest Group. She has been heavily involved in several Patient Safety projects including EMER (Emergency Medicine Events Register).  Born and bred in Brisbane, Kim graduated from the University of Queensland, has worked at a range of hospitals across the Queensland, Victoria and England.  She now works as Director of Emergency at St Andrew’s War Memorial Hospital and as an ED Consultant at The Prince Charles Hospital in Brisbane.  

Event Management by Season Events

Larisse Neil (MBA, Grad Cert. Bus Admin, B.Ed, Dip Teach.) 


Autumn Symposium Speakers

Thursday Speakers (as they appear in order of the program)

Session 1 Dr Bill Lukin and panel, Dr Roger O'Gorman, Dr Carol Douglas, Dr Mike Cameron, Eliana Close

Session 2  Dr Clancy McDonald, Prof Louise Cullen, Dr Liz Mowatt, Dr Steve Rashford, Dr James Lind, Dr Ben Symon

Session 3A  Dr Shahina Braganza, Dr Bethany Bolton, Dr Una Harrington

Session 3B  Dr Katherine Isoardi

Session 3C  Free papers - various speakers

Session 4  Dr Jeremy Furyk and Dr Colin Banks

Friday Speakers (as they appear in order of the program)

Session 5 Dr Andrew Wong, Dr Kendal Redmond, Dr David Rosengren

Session 6 Dr Sarah Martin and panel 

Session 7 Dr Craig Hacking

Autumn Symposium 2018 CLOSING PRESENTATION 

Please note: Speakers and session chairpersons may change depending on their availability and program updates

Speakers - Feel welcome to upload your Biographies